Evan Verploegh (he/him) is a drummer based in Kansas City, Missouri, after relocating from Wisconsin in late 2019. He serves as co-founder of the Extemporaneous Music and Arts Society. EMAS is a collective group dedicated to advancing improvised and experimental artistic work in Kansas City. In 2022, he was awarded a studio residency at Charlotte Street Foundation. Committed to improvisation as an artform, Evan draws from influences of free jazz, contemporary classical, and experimental rock. Evan also serves as an active organizer of live music and arts events.


  1. Saturday, January 28, 2023
    VDO + Iris Appelquist
    Bunker Center for the Arts (KCMO) - 7:30pm

    Sunday, January 29, 2023
    Trio with Jeff Harshbarger and Sterling Holman
    The Pairing (KCMO) - 5pm

    Tuesday, January 31, 2023
    EMAS Presents: Jack Wright & Ron Stabinsky
    Charlotte Street Foundation (KCMO) - 7:30pm

    Wednesday, February 8, 2023
    Torches Mauve, Ceremonial Abyss, Alber
    Sk8Bar (St. Joe) - 8pm

    Friday, February 17, 2023
    Duo with Kyle Jessen
    Project Project (Omaha, NE) - 7pm

    Friday, February 24, 2023
    Torches Mauve, Adams/Maerbach, Batillion of Cloudships, Instinct Control
    TriTriangle (Chicago, IL) - 8pm

    Saturday, February 25, 2023
    Torches Mauve
    Iowa City (Venue TBD)

    Sunday, February 26, 2023
    Torches Mauve, All Extinct Animals, LB Trio + More
    Elastic Arts (Chicago, IL) - 8pm


Boat Patrol

Live at ArtStart (2018)

Live at Sir Benedicts (2020)

Brennan Connors, Seth A Davis, Evan Verploegh
Connors/Davis/Verploegh (2022)

EMS Quartet

EMS (2022)

Evan Verploegh

Drum Set and Piano Improvisations No. 1 (2020)

K.E.B. Trio (Kyle Quass, Brendan Keller-Tuberg, Evan Verploegh)

finding light (2022)

Krista Kopper & Evan Verploegh

For the Trees (2022)

Kyle Hutchins, Aaron Osborne, Seth Andrew Davis, Evan Verploegh

Quartet Vol. 1 (2022)

Labor Dog

Clocking In (2021)
Midnight Oil (2023)

Torches Mauve (duo with Seth Andrew Davis)

Hunter (2022)

Sterling Witt

Something's Awry (2020)


VDO (2022)

Verploegh & Baker

Singles (2021)
Badger State Games (2022)